Homemade Cinnamon Teddy Grahams 


 a childhood favorite snack without the added “junk”

File_000 (6)

I started recipe testing homemade versions of my kids’ favorite snacks in the attempt to limit as much processed food in their diets as possible. Some of the information I found on children’s snacks was disturbing…it’s crazy to me that cancer-causing ingredients are so commonly used in food/snacks marketed for kids. These Homemade Cinnamon Teddy Grahams came out delicious. As you’ll see below, they are much larger than the store-bought kind because I didn’t have a tiny cookie cutter, but my kids didn’t mind at all! 


Ingredients

3/4 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

Pinch of Salt

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

3 Tbsp. Pure Honey

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter or coconut oil, melted

1/4 c. milk of choice

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract 

Instructions

Preheat Oven to 350° & line baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat Mat

Whisk all wet ingredients in a small bowl

Whisk all dry ingredients in large bowl

Slowly add wet ingredients to large bowl, stirring constantly 

Once combined, I find it easier to flour my hands a bit & continue to form the dough

On a clean, lightly floured surface, roll out dough approx 1/4″ thin & begin to cut out bear shapes with cutter

Carefully transfer bears to baking sheet & repeat process until all the dough is used

(This step is optional, but I find if you refrigerate the bears for 10-15 minutes, they hold their shape better while baking)

Once in the oven, bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown

After a few minutes, transfer bears to cooling rack & let cool for 20 minutes

My kids love to enjoy these with a cold glass of Vanilla Almond Milk!

*Store cooled bears in air-tight container for 5-6 days*


file_000-8.jpeg

I love knowing what’s going into the snacks my kids are eating! Here is a post I found to be very helpful in explaining the “junk” that’s going into food. There is nothing wrong with being informed & wanting to make healthy food choices for your kids!  

I hope you’ll give these a try….let me know if you have any other requests for homemade versions of Kids Snack Favorites! 

Have a wonderful Tuesday,

Manda 

2 thoughts on “

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

